May 23-29, 2021 is Justice Week, when Justice for North Korea will host various events to raise awareness of the North Korean crisis and raise funds to rescue North Korean refugees. Specifically, we are trying to raise $4,000, which is enough to rescue one refugee. Some of the events will be held online, so you can participate from anywhere!

Virtual Fun Run Fundraiser:
All week (Sunday, May 23 – Saturday, May 29).
Justice for North Korea will host a Virtual Fun Run Fundraiser. It will be a 5km virtual race. A virtual race is a race that can be run (or walked) from any location you choose. You can run, jog, or walk on the road, on the trail, on the treadmill at the gym, on the track, or even in your own backyard. You get to run your own race, at your own pace, and time it yourself. As this is a fundraiser, all participants must pay at least $5 and will receive a certificate of participation. All funds raised will go toward bringing North Korean refugees to safety. Specifically, we are trying to raise $4,000, which is enough to rescue one refugee. Run, jog, walk, skip, or crawl to help those in need! This is an online event. For more information and to register, go here.

Online Petition:
All week (Sunday, May 23 – Saturday, May 29).
Every year, thousands of North Koreans flee to China in search of a better life. Some try to leave permanently as they seek freedom or flee religious persecution, and others cross the border in search of jobs or food so they can return and support their starving families in North Korea. However, reaching China does not mean freedom for refugees, since China has an agreement with North Korea to forcibly repatriate all refugees. Since leaving North Korea is a capital offense, China’s policy essentially sends refugees to their death. Please sign the petition and ask the Chinese government to end its policy of forcibly repatriating North Korean refugees. For information and to sign the petition, go here.

Online Chess Tournament Charity Fundraiser:
Sunday, May 23 from 10:00AM to 11:00AM KST (Saturday, May 22 9:00-10:00PM EDT; Saturday, May 22 6:00-7:00PM PDT; Sunday, May 23 2:00AM BST).
Justice for North Korea will host its very first Online Chess Tournament Charity Fundraiser using the Lichess tournament. Like all non-profit organizations, Justice for North Korea needs donations to operate, and we wish to gain funds and publicize our cause through this fundraiser. Specifically, we are trying to raise $4,000, which is enough to rescue one refugee. Also, using new mediums like chess tournaments we hope to raise awareness among new members. As this is a fundraiser, all participants must pay at least $5. The winners of the tournament will not receive any prize money. Instead, they will receive certificates indicating their win. Also, all who participated will receive a certificate of participation. Let’s play some chess and help North Koreans at the same time! This is an online event. For more information and to register, go here.

Online Prayer Meeting:
Tuesday, May 25 from 9:00PM to 10:00PM KST (8:00-9:00AM EDT; 5:00-6:00AM PDT; 1:00-2:00PM BST).
Justice for North Korea will host a prayer meeting for North Korea. While Justice for North Korea remains a non-religious organization, from time to time we participate in prayer meetings for North Korea. This prayer meeting will consist of prayer points that volunteers will pray over. All are welcome, regardless of religious affiliation! This is an online event. It is free of charge. For more information and to register, go here.

Press Conference:
Wednesday, May 26 at 11:00AM KST.
Justice for North Korea will hold a press conference introducing the events of Justice Week and explaining why we feel that these events are necessary. This is an offline event. The press conference will be held at the Press Hall (near Exit 4 of City Hall Station) on Wednesday, May 26 at 11:00am.

“While They Watched” Online Documentary Screening:
Thursday, May 27 from 9:00PM to 11:00PM KST (8:00-10:00AM EDT; 5:00-7:00AM PDT; 1:00-3:00PM BST).
Justice for North Korea will host a screening of the film “While They Watched”. This retrospective documentary looks back at the crimes against humanity perpetrated by the current North Korean regime on its own people that include: detention without charge, torture, public executions, and perhaps even genocide. This film follows the escape story of a North Korean refugee, and interviews experts in the field of human rights to ask what can be done about North Korea. Two experts interviewed in the film are Aaron Peterson, Justice for North Korea’s International Campaign Leader, and Peter Jung, the founder of Justice for North Korea. Scenes of Justice for North Korea’s Street Campaigns also appear in the documentary. After the film, there will be a Q&A session. This is an online event. It is free of charge. For more information and to register, go here.

Webinar on North Korean Human Rights:
Friday, May 28 from 9:00PM to 11:00PM KST (8:00-10:00AM EDT; 5:00-7:00AM PDT; 1:00-3:00PM BST).
Justice for North Korea will host an informational webinar for anyone interested in learning more about the human rights situation in North Korea and North Korean refugees in China. Whether you would like a general introduction, more in-depth discussion of the topic, or advice on how to help, we have the information for you! The talk will focus on the role of the international community and how to get involved, and will feature guest speakers plus a Q&A session. This is an online event. It is free of charge. For more information and to register, go here.

Street Campaign:
Saturday, May 29 from 3:00PM to 5:00PM KST.
One of Justice for North Korea’s most unique initiatives is the Street Campaign. Every Street Campaign includes a live re-enactment of a North Korean refugee being held captive by a North Korean guard and a Chinese guard. We also have posters and fliers with lots of information on the North Korean crisis. The purpose of the Street Campaigns is to raise awareness of the North Korean crisis, to protest the Chinese government’s brutal repatriation policy, and to raise funds to help rescue North Korean refugees. This is an offline event. The Street Campaign will be held in Insadong (near Exit 6 of Anguk Station) on Saturday, May 29 from 3:00pm to 5:00pm.

We hope you will join us as we work to free the North Korean people!